Education Program Approval

Our commitment to govern nursing in Saskatchewan in the public interest is the basis for SRNA’s program approval process. The Registered Nurses Act, 1988, authorizes SRNA’s Council to approve nursing education programs in Saskatchewan. The regulation supports our public-protection mandate to ensure that individuals who enter the nursing profession have the knowledge, skill and judgment to practice safely, ethically and competently.

Entry-level nursing programs in Saskatchewan must receive program approval from SRNA for graduates to be eligible to proceed with registration. The authority for approving entry-level nursing programs in Saskatchewan has been delegated from the SRNA Council to the SRNA Nursing Education Program Approval Committee (NEPAC). NEPAC has the authority to grant a program’s approval status as well as make other decisions related to program approval. SRNA Council has the authority to hear an appeal of NEPAC’s decisions.

The objectives of the program approval process are to:

  • Fulfil SRNA’s legislative duty to approve entry-level nursing education programs;
  • Promote the safe practice of nursing through a standardized nursing education approval process for all categories of nursing education;
  • Grant jurisdictional recognition to nursing education programs;
  • Provide stakeholders with a transparent account of program approval; and
  • Support continuous evaluation and improvement of nursing education programs.

NEPAC Manuals & Forms

Program Approval Manuals


Scroll to top